San Angelo Texas History
The San Angelo Stock Show and Rodeo, held every year for the last two weeks of February, offer an authentic West Texas experience. SanAngelo is located in the heart of ranching land, south of San Antonio and west of the Rio Grande, and is home to over 100,000 friendly people.
The city is home to the Conrad Hilton, which is building a fourth hotel, and the San Angelo Performing Arts Coalition makes the city one of the largest and most vibrant cultural centers in the state of Texas. Educational and cultural highlights include the Texas State Fair, the National Museum of Natural History and SanAngelo's own museum. For 25 years, volunteers from 10th Cavalry, Company A, have taken part in rodeo and other local events and embedded the dismantled unit.
San Angelo has descendants of the Buffalo Soldiers, and the fort and the black troops were founded in the 1880s. Baptist missionaries arrived in 1881 and founded the Baptist Church of Christ in SanAngelo two years later.
Six years later, the Santa Fe Railroad connected San Angelo with the outside world and ensured its growth. The devastating floods of 1882 destroyed the small, tough station, but the depot was so successful that SanAngelo reached the top of the US Census Bureau's list of Texas towns in 1909. By the time DeCoty's Coffee Company became the largest plant in San Angelo, it had already moved to 618 South Chadbourne.
Fort Concho is a historic landmark with 23 original and restored buildings. Today, the so-called "Pearl of West Texas" and the largest city in the state of Texas, San Angelo, is a vibrant community of over 100,000 people.
The museum does a great job of explaining the history of San Angelo, its history as a maritime centre and the company that runs the city. The Kansas City, Mexico and Orient Railway was extended to SanAngelo in 1854, just a few years after Fort Concho opened. From Sterling City, the railroad built the Concho, Colorado and San Saba Railway, which now operates as part of Santa Fe. With the arrival of the San Antonio, Texas and Texas Pacific Railways in the late 18th century, it quickly developed into a shipping center.
After the Fort Concho was closed in May 1889, San Angelo developed into a trading town for cattle and sheep breeders. SanAngelo's early growth was helped by the arrival of the San Antonio, Texas and Texas Pacific Railways in the late 18th century.
The first units arrived at Fort Concho and were brought to life with the arrival of Mrs. DeWitt and her sister, who were born on May 1, 1847 in San Angelo, Texas, just a few days before the arrival of the railroad. The settlement that became SanAngelo developed at the same time as the river north of the Concho. The first river was called Santa Angela, which was later called San Angela because it was grammatically incorrect, and then changed its name to San Angelo in 1848.
Santa Fe eventually agreed to return $40,000 to San Angelo, but stipulated that the money should be spent on community projects.
The City of San Angelo requested that part of the reservoirs be reserved for the provision of municipal and industrial water to the city. The car took people to a new subdivision, Lake View, which is three miles away North of San Angelo to try to interest them in buying land there. Small towns in the area depended on SanAngelo, and many ranchers made two trips a day just to bring their families, or they camped in wagon halls, freighters and others. One reason it was so difficult was that most local commercial facilities were located on stage lines that stretched as far as California.
Shortly after the fort was built, he bought 320 hectares of land from Granville Sherwood for a dollar per hectare and set up a trading post on the river, which was later called Santa Angela. The city of San Angelo grew around the old military post and claimed about eight hundred inhabitants in 1882, before Ben Ficklen had a number, and later acquired a county town in his honor. Bartholomew J. Dewitt of San Antonio bought Fort Concho that same year, and local historians have found that DeWitt named the city after his wife Carolina Angela, who died in 1866.
He first visited Fort Concho in 1875 and moved to San Angelo in the 1880s, where his son John F. Ficklen, the first commander of the US Army Air Corps in Texas, made his first visits in 1880. During the Second World War, when a training base of the Army Air Corps was built near the city, it returned to San Angelo for a few years. In 1945, the military returned them, this time to Goodfellow Air Force Base, which was intended to train pilots.